The Dangerous Depths of Comparison

I decided to come out of my blogging absence with a bang.

God has been doing something in me, and so i just needed time to reflect. He has been teaching me a lot of about editing, letting my thoughts simmer, and coming back to them. That is exactly what I have done with this topic. I Began writing this in December of last year. And just left it alone, until now.  I have been struggling with this for some time now, It’s not in a way that you might think. I don’t covet the possessions of others or anything like that. It’s more of a spiritual issue. It’s not even that i compare myself with a particular person(s), it is just this nagging feeling that maybe i am not good enough.

Comparison is something that has been a part of our lives since we were “fresh out” as i like to say. As soon as babies are born, other mothers are bombarding the new mom with sentiments about what “their baby did”…etc. This can be so great to know you are not alone, but this dangerous road of comparison can also be so deadly to the spirit.

I honestly struggle with this and so as i am writing this, i pray that it does not come across as me talking down or condemning anyone. Comparison is also a very normal part of life, but i am just talking about when it starts to burden you. When YOU begin to feel inadequate because of  the successes of others. Instead of celebrating the successes of others, we are DYING on the inside counting the ways that we dont measure up.

I am not even a mother to human children yet (I have my chi babies), and i already feel the pressure of comparison. Will i be able to measure up to make sure my kids are clothed, fed, and entertained in the best ways possible? And honestly, it’s a lot of pressure.

I decided to go to God’s word. That is the best place to go for me. I HAVE to rest in the truth that God’s word brings especially when it comes to this. I can’t live my life worried that i might not measure up. Because the truth is everyone is different. I want to be JOYFUL when other people SHINE brighter than me. When their success far outweighs mine, i want to rejoice with them. I want to be the kind of friend/person who propels the interest of others forward. When my friends create the most wonderful birthday parties for their kids all from scratch, i want to rejoice with them, encourage them. And I also want to be the kind of friend who encourages my friends when they may be feeling like me, that they might not measure up.

2 Corinthians 10:12

Not that we dare to classify or compare ourselves with some of those who are commending themselves. But when they measure themselves by one another and compare themselves with one another, they are without understanding.

Galatians 6:4

But let each one test his own work, and then his reason to boast will be in himself alone and not in his neighbor.

Galatians 1:10

For am I now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant of Christ.

Romans 12:2

Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.

Matthew 7:2

For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you.

2 Corinthians 13:5

Examine yourselves, to see whether you are in the faith. Test yourselves. Or do you not realize this about yourselves, that Jesus Christ is in you?—unless indeed you fail to meet the test!

Matthew 7:1

“Judge not, that you be not judged.

2 Timothy 2:15

Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a worker who has no need to be ashamed, rightly handling the word of truth.

Matthew 25:14-30

“For it will be like a man going on a journey, who called his servants and entrusted to them his property. To one he gave five talents, to another two, to another one, to each according to his ability. Then he went away. He who had received the five talents went at once and traded with them, and he made five talents more. So also he who had the two talents made two talents more. But he who had received the one talent went and dug in the ground and hid his master’s money.

Galatians 2:20

I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

Acts 20:35

In all things I have shown you that by working hard in this way we must help the weak and remember the words of the Lord Jesus, how he himself said, ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’”

2 Corinthians 12:1-21 ESV 

I must go on boasting. Though there is nothing to be gained by it, I will go on to visions and revelations of the Lord. I know a man in Christ who fourteen years ago was caught up to the third heaven—whether in the body or out of the body I do not know, God knows. And I know that this man was caught up into paradise—whether in the body or out of the body I do not know, God knows— and he heard things that cannot be told, which man may not utter. On behalf of this man I will boast, but on my own behalf I will not boast, except of my weaknesses.

Psalm 118:6

The Lord is on my side; I will not fear. What can man do to me?

Romans 5:3-4

More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope,

2 Timothy 3:17

That the man of God may be competent, equipped for every good work.

1 Corinthians 10:13

No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.

James 2:20 ESV

Do you want to be shown, you foolish person, that faith apart from works is useless?

Hebrews 11:6 ESV

And without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him.

2 Timothy 3:16 ESV 

All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness,

Resting in God’s truth that He is FOR ME, that he promises to fulfill me all the days of my life is so comforting.

I have taken hope in this scripture from Ecclesiastes today:

A Time for Everything

There is a time for everything,
    and a season for every activity under the heavens:
    a time to be born and a time to die,
    a time to plant and a time to uproot,
    a time to kill and a time to heal,
    a time to tear down and a time to build,
    a time to weep and a time to laugh,
    a time to mourn and a time to dance,
    a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
    a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing,
    a time to search and a time to give up,
    a time to keep and a time to throw away,
    a time to tear and a time to mend,
    a time to be silent and a time to speak,
    a time to love and a time to hate,
    a time for war and a time for peace.
What do workers gain from their toil?10 I have seen the burden God has laid on the human race.11 He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet<sup class=”footnote” value=”[a]”>[a] no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.12 I know that there is nothing better for people than to be happy and to do good while they live.13 That each of them may eat and drink, and find satisfaction in all their toil—this is the gift of God.14 I know that everything God does will endure forever; nothing can be added to it and nothing taken from it. God does it so that people will fear him.
  I hope this post was an encouragement to you. I hope that we can all stop the comparison game. With a world filled with  happy statuses and pinterest moms gone wild…comparison is a JOY thief. But our KING came so that we can have abundant Life!
Rejoice, take heart, Your God is FOR YOU. YOUR TIME IS COMING. He makes EVERYTHING beautiful in its time.
XO
Amy 
Leave a Reply

