Women of Faith Recap

WARNING: SUPER LONG POST BELOW. I pray you get at least one nugget of Gold after my scrambled attempt to share with you the things God impressed upon me at women of faith. I pray that somehow God makes sense out of this all. If you have time, read the scripture references as well. I pray that you are blessed. }

If you only get one thing out of the below, I pray it is this word from Christine Caine: “FAVOR IS FOR SERVICE NOT STATUS.” We live in a world of Christian celebrity and we need less celebrity and more service.


A few weeks ago I had the opportunity to attend women of faith. There was confirmation after confirmation that I was supposed to attend this event.

My dear friend Heather, author of Now While You’re Single: Walking Out Your Purpose Before You Say ‘I Do’, invited me. Her sister had received several tickets from her husband for her birthday, and she had an extra! I asked RyRo and he said yes. When I found out it was at Lakewood Church, I told Heather that I knew exactly where we had to sit….where Ryan and I sit every Sunday! She told me she would let her sister know. Well turns out, the seats were reserved, but you WILL NOT BELIEVE, that our reserved seats were in the EXACT Section where Ryan and I sit every Sunday. Like are you kidding me right? Out of the thousands of seats we could have gotten, they were our exact section. And turns out they were only one row up from our usual row. Needless to say, I felt right at home.

11002489_638885147928_7744952713193104068_n 11006447_608936542573204_5256505776067137125_n

There were fiver speakers: Priscilla Shirer, Charlotte Gambill, Lisa Harper, Sheila Walsh, and Christine Caine.

I honestly had no idea what to expect. I had never been to a women of faith conference before.

I just wanted to share with you some of my favorite key points from each speaker, and also the verses they shared. Through the weekend we talked about different women from the Bible. We learned more about them which was VERY fascinating and saw how they were just like us. Separated by thousands of years, but still at our core, very much the same.

Sheila Walsh

Women of the Bible: The Samaritan Women at the Well

Scripture Reference: John 4:1-26 (NLT)

Facts I learned about her:

  • Most Commentaries agree she was probably barren {which could explain why she was married 5 times. Being barren was considered to be a curse, and your husband could just leave you.}
  • Her name was Photini {Pronounced: Foe-Teeny}. It means “The Enlightened One.”
  • Photini would visit the well at the 6 Hour {Noon}. Sheila explained that this was VERY uncommon. Most women of that day would go EARLY in the morning to avoid the heat from the sun. But likely, Photini was ashamed of her past and didn’t want to have to look at anyone or be looked at herself. So rather than go to the well in the coolness of the morning, she would go in the middle of the day where she was likely to be alone.

Favorite Points from this Message:

  • Do not allow anyone in the body of Christ to shame you because of your past.
  • When Jesus says to her in John 4:16-18: 16 {“Go and get your husband,” Jesus told her. 17 “I don’t have a husband,” the woman replied. Jesus said, “You’re right! You don’t have a husband— 18 for you have had five husbands, and you aren’t even married to the man you’re living with now. You certainly spoke the truth!”} He was not shaming her. He was saying to her, I KNOW YOUR STORY. I UNDERSTAND. I SEE YOU.
  • Psalm 56:8 says: “You keep track of all my sorrows.  You have collected all my tears in your bottle.  You have recorded each one in your book.” {Not ONE tear we have cried EVERY FALLS TO THE GROUND.” God knows each one the Bible Says}
  • The Good News can never be good news unless we realize that Jesus knows all the bad news. He knows our WHOLE story {even the hidden parts} and He still loves us
  • “But the time is coming—indeed it’s here now—when true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and in truth.” (V. 23) – TRUTH “Aletheia” literally means “Hiding Nothing.”
  • A Transformed life changes the way you see others. {The woman immediately RAN to the people she couldn’t face to tell them about Jesus.}

 Charlotte Gambill

Women of the Bible: the Shunammite woman

Scripture Reference: 2 Kings 4: 8-37

Favorite Points from this Message:

  • Doorways, Hallways, and Gateways & {Hallway Rules}
  • Doorway: {15 “Call her in,” said Elisha. He called her and she stood at the open door.16 Elisha said to her, “This time next year you’re going to be nursing an infant son.”} Every doorway leads to a hallway. Get in the doorway of a new dream, a new possibility.
  • Hallway Rule 1. You are not allowed to take your baggage with you into the hallway. {21 She took him up and laid him on the bed of the man of God, shut him in alone, and left.} She left her baggage at the place of promise and left it at home. Then she saddled up her donkey. This dream was not possible until God gave it to her.
  • If you are in a Hallway, get back in the saddle and DON’T SLOW DOWN. {24-25 She went ahead and saddled the donkey, ordering her servant, “Take the lead—and go as fast as you can; I’ll tell you if you’re going too fast.”} If you find yourself in a hallway, DON’T BACK UP. GET UP AND DON’T SIT DOWN.
  • Hallway Rule 2: No talking in the hallway. {25-26 The Holy Man, spotting her while she was still a long way off, said to his servant Gehazi, “Look out there; why, it’s the Shunammite woman! Quickly now. Ask her, ‘Is something wrong? Are you all right? Your husband? Your child?’” She said, “Everything’s fine.”}
    • Be Careful what you say in the hallway
    • Be careful who you stop and talk to when you are in transition because there are people that don’t want you to get where you are going. Just say “I’m Fine.” AND KEEP MOVING
  • God is NOT afraid of YOUR feelings. Take your burden to Him. God will teach you in the Hallway, the things getting voiced in your doorway.
  • Gateways 2 Kings 8 we revisit this woman 7 Years later. { 6 The king wanted to know all about it, and so she told him the story. The king assigned an officer to take care of her, saying, “Make sure she gets everything back that’s hers, plus all profits from the farm from the time she left until now.”}
  • God took called her to a doorway, gave her a promise, carried her through the hallway {taught her lessons along the way}, and then delivered her to a gateway, a place of provision.
  • It is in the hallway that we find ourselves. GOD HAS NOT FORGOTTEN US. He will walk the HALLWAYS with you

{This was hard to translate into points, it was one of those you had to be there moments, BUT I hope that I did it justice. I have been hearing WORD AFTER WORD about doorways and being in them. I am at the door, and I feel like God is about to bring me through a hallway. I haven’t gone through the door yet to my hallway, which is going to lead to my gateway, but I am right on the verge. I can feel it}

Lisa Harper

Women of the Bible: The Midwives in Exodus 1:8-22

What I learned about them:

  • They were likely Egyptian
  • They were likely Barren

Favorite Points from this message:

  • Risk Leads to Reward. {These midwives risked death for not obeying Pharaoh but since they honored God, he gave them children.
  • What are we willing to risk to give birth to something big?
  • Obedience leads to blessing

Priscilla Shirer

Woman of the Bible: Widow at Zarephath 1 Kings 1:7-24

Favorite Points from this Message:

  • Sign of a Mature believer is one who is willing to pray uncomfortable prayers
  • The enemy wants us to be crippled by our lack that we never put into our hands the blessing that could bless others.
  • We don’t need more, what we need is the favor of God on what we have
  • Pray: God give me the privilege to be the answer to someone else’s blessing.
  • Don’t be crippled by what you don’t have
  • YOU ARE THE KEEPER OF THE COMMANDED BLESSING
  • God has already gone before me
  • We keep trying to rationalize the thoughts of God and we rationalize ourselves out of obedience.
  • We must be willing to go to an uncomfortable place {This is what I feel this entire transition has been for me—an uncomfortable place}
  • COMFORTABLE CHRISTIANITY IS NOT WHAT WE ARE CALLED TO.

Christine Caine

Woman of the Bible: Mary, the mother of Jesus

Favorite Points from this Message:

  • Bible Study is NOT for entertainment but for Transformation
  • We are not on a cruise ship in this life, we are on a battleship
  • God will use anyone who is willing to be interrupted.
  • It has a lot less to do with us and MORE to do with Jesus.
  • The main purpose of our existence is to GO and MAKE DISCIPLES.
  • We must be looking forward to Jesus coming again.
  • WE ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR EVANGELIZING THE WORLD and taking as many people to heaven with us as possible.
  • Mary was a young girl who had a real heart after God. She wasn’t surprised to see the angel at all, she was surprised by how the angel greeted her {I never thought of it this way at all.}
  • Mary was willing to be interrupted
  • FAVOR IS FOR SERVICE NOT STATUS
  • Whatever gifts God has given me are for service not status {AMEN}

SADDLE UP YOUR DONKEYS GIRLS!! This life is one wild ride. Let’s get uncomfortable. Let’s pray uncomfortable prayers and watch God do something amazing.

XO

Fancy

Leave a Reply

