Word Wednesday: “in quietness and trust is your strength”

Luke  8_17

Have you ever been wronged or offended?

I think if we were honest, we can all say that we have.

I recently had a situation where i was wronged.

Then, someone i cared about and thought was my friend stood up for the person who wronged me. Not only did they stand up for them {which honestly, i understood because of their relationship to that person at the time} , but they took to social media to say something negative about me. They didn’t post my name, but it was 100%  directed toward me.

Can i just be honest? IT HURT. I cried over it. I wish I was one of those people who just didn’t care what people think. But I do. I care deeply about what people i call friends think of me. I care about my character. I care that people I trust know they can trust me in return.

Seeing this person could not be avoided. We were in the same social circle at the time. I had to face them. And can i tell you, every time i saw that person, my stomach was sick. I wanted so badly to tell them the truth. To confront them. To tell me their words hurt. To ask them if they even knew what had really happened? To tell them my side of the story. To tell them that i wasn’t the kind of person that had alluded to on social media. That i was a true friend. I was the one who had been wronged. But every time i thought about mustering up the strength to confront them, i felt the Holy Spirit telling me to be quiet.It was confirmed in a message from Priscilla Shirer. She actually said the words “you need only to be quiet.” HE would come to my rescue. He would prepare a table for me in the presence of my enemies {Psalm 23:5}  and he would bring what was hidden to darkness to the light {Luke 8:17}.

Months later, the hidden things were brought to light. The truth of what had really happened came out, and that person apologized. I was SO relieved. I felt justified. I felt OVER JOYED.

Obedience and waiting on the Lord can be so difficult. It can seem so irrational. But Only God can reveal the true hearts of men. Nothing is hidden before Him.

This is just my story. This isn’t for everyone. But my prayer is that before you go to defend yourself when you are wronged, seek God. Often God does want us to confront situations and talk through things, but other times, we need to simply be quiet and HE will bring what is hidden to light. HE ALWAYS DOES.

XO

Fancy

5 thoughts on “Word Wednesday: “in quietness and trust is your strength”

Leave a Reply

